BC SCHOOLS CURLING ASSOCIATION

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

FEBRUARY 21 2015

CRESTON CURLING CENTRE, CRESTON BC

MINUTES

Chair: Janet Dunkin, Commissioner

- 1. Additions to the agenda: none
- 2. Minutes of last meeting (Grossi, Guidos) approved
- 3. Financial statement presented by Moe Williams (Turney, Guidos) approved
- 4. President's report Vern Ronmark reported that he had had tremendous support from the Creston Curling Club and community; he felt that the championship had been a success! He is stepping down as convenor for region 5 and welcomed Kim Bartlett, the new convenor.
- 5. Regional reports:

Zone 1: held at Qualicum: 3 girls, 3 boys teams
Zone 2: held at Royal City: 2 girls, 5 boys teams
Zone 3: held at North Pelto: 3 girls, 5 boys teams

Zone 3: held at North Delta: 3 girls, 5 boys teams Zone 4: held at Coquitlam: 4 girls, 4 boys teams

Zone 5: held at Cranbrook/Castlegar: 3 girls, 4 boys teams

Zone 6: held at Kamloops: 4 girls 5 boys teams

Zone 7: held at Prince George: 3 girls, 2 boys teams Zone 8: held at Prince Rupert: 1 girls, 2 boys teams

Overall participation is down; each region will decide if they will allow more than one team per school to participate in regional playdowns.

- 6. Rotation of championships:
 - a. 2016: Vancouver Curling Club, Feb 18-20
 - b. 2017: Smithers/Terrace, Mar 2-4
 - c. 2018: Richmond Curling Club, Mar 1-3
- 7. BC School Sports report: BCSS provided live streaming of the championship at no cost (except shipping) which was enjoyed; hopefully we'll be able to do this again next year.

 On a side note it was noted that zone 2 has lost a curling venue with the closure of the North Shore Winter Club (8 sheets) and that there will now be no North Shore high school curling until a new venue is up and running.
- 8. Rio Tinto Alcan has sponsored us for 38 years; they are requesting a review of this process this year. We hope they will continue to sponsor us.

9. Honour roll: former provincials curlers who have gone on to participate in national championships or have won provincial championships:

Corryn Brown, Paul Henderson, Tyler Tardi, Sterling Middleton, Timothy Henderson, Nick Umbach

New business: Discussion re time outs: moved and seconded (Ronmark, Lindstrom) that once
the time out is called, both coaches get to the door and at that point the one minute begins.
(carried)

Reminder re time outs: must be called from the ice even if coach indicates; (Grossi, Turney) carried

Draw to the button: measurements will be made and each player must take their turn within the first four games. Coaches and fifths must leave the ice area completely (be behind glass); only the team remains on ice. (Grossi, Guidos) carried

Tie breakers: an extra end versus the draw to the button – play an extra end if time permits (8 ends must be completed within 2 hrs 15 min) during round robin play (Turney, Guidos) carried

11. Election of officers

President: Peter Wenzek

First vice-president: Laurence Turney Second vice-president: Marion McNeill

Adjournment: 3:11 pm

Attendance at the AGM, Feb 21 2015 2 pm

Name	email	phone	region
Dean Sheardown Kevin Chen	dsheardown@vsb.bc.cc chen.kevinc@hotmail.c		2 2
Carmen Guidos	cguidos@shaw.ca	250 833 8534	6
Laurence Turney	<u>Laurence@ardea.ca</u>	250 877 6725	8
Dick Mann	curlmann@telus.net	250 803 0048	6
Adam Grossi	adam_grossi@hotmail.	.com	
		778 891 2846	2
Vern Ronmark	vern428@telus.net	250 428 9183	5
Kim Bartlett	Bartlett@nethop.net	250 447 9389	5
Don Marshall	wearemarshall@hotma	ail.com	
		250 752 7522	1
Diana Lindstrom	dlindstrom@sd91.bc.ca	<u>a</u> 250 699 6233	7
Moe Williams	moewilliams60@hotm	ail.com	
		604 988 9701	2
Don Brown	daddyd@shaw.ca	604 351 2537	3
Kyle Habkirk	drkshabkirk@shaw.ca	604 771 2358	4
Janet Dunkin	jldunkin@telus.net	604 984 7565	commissioner